Lions History


Where it all began

British Lions

The British & Irish Lions, formerly known as the British Isles and the British Lions is a rugby union team consisting of players from England, Scotland, Ireland and Wales.

The first tour dating back to 1888 went to Australia and New Zealand where they won 27 out of 35 games.  19 of these games were Australian rules football of which they won six and drew one.

The first officially sanctioned tour in 1891 saw the British Isles travel to South Africa for the first time where they played 21 games winning only three.

It wasn't until 1910 that The British Isles Rugby Team was selected by a committee consisting of members from all four Home Unions.  The team selected travelled to South Africa where they won just over half of their non-test matches but unfortunately lost two of the three test matches against the home team.

It wasn't until around the 1950's, possibly due to the emblem sewn into their new-look jerseys, that the British Isles team were first known as 'The Lions'.

Score Ratios

South Africa

W: 10 / L: 10

New Zealand

W: 10 / L: 10


W: 10 / L: 10


Get the latest news about the Lions Tour by signing up to our newsletter below.